Senator Paul A. Sarlo

Deputy Majority Leader, New Jersey Senate

Official Biography of Senator Paul A. Sarlo

Senator Paul A. Sarlo was sworn into the New Jersey Senate on May 19, 2003 following his selection by members of the 36th District Democratic County Committee to fill an unexpired term. Mr. Sarlo was elected to a full term on November 4, 2003 and re-elected in 2007, 2011, and 2013.

Mr. Sarlo, the Senate’s Deputy Majority Leader, serves as Chairman of the Budget & Appropriations Committee, and is a member of the Judiciary Committee, the Higher Education Committee, the Joint Budget Oversight Committee and the Senate Legislative Oversight Committee. He is a former Chairman of the Judiciary Committee and the Labor Committee.

Prior to his Senate service, Mr. Sarlo served in the General Assembly, having been elected in 2001. The senator has been the mayor of the Borough of Wood-Ridge since January 2000 and served on the Borough Council from 1995-2000.

As a legislator, Mr. Sarlo has been the prime sponsor of over 200 bills which have been signed into law. He was a prime sponsor of legislation which reformed New Jersey’s workers compensation system, established the “Main Street Business Assistance Program,” criminalized the illegal trafficking and distribution of prescription drugs, required schools to adopt bullying prevention policies, and upgraded penalties for identity theft. He also sponsored laws dealing with ethics reforms, energy efficiency, environmental protection, homeland security and consumer protection.

Mr. Sarlo, a licensed Professional Engineer, licensed Professional Planner, and a certified Municipal Engineer, holds B.S. and M.S. degrees in Civil Engineering from the New Jersey Institute of Technology. He and his wife, Concetta, are the parents of two sons, Anthony Joseph, born in 2000 and Michael Paul, born in 2004.

Senator Sarlo represents the 36th Legislative District, which includes fifteen municipalities in two counties: Carlstadt, Cliffside Park, East Rutherford, Little Ferry, Lyndhurst, Moonachie, North Arlington, Passaic, Ridgefield, Ridgefield Park, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Teterboro, Wallington, and Wood-Ridge.